[microsound-announce] xxxxx_temporary_structure final actions CTM09 31 January 20:00+

Derek Holzer derek at umatic.nl
Fri Jan 30 14:26:27 EST 2009

Invitation for external observers to join the final actions and
activation of xxxxx_temporary_structure CTM09 at 20:00 [31st January] in:


Mariannenplatz 2 10997 Berlin-Kreuzberg

Public transport: U8 > Kottbusser Tor S3, S4, S8, S9 > S-BHF
Ostbahnhof 10 minutes walking distance from MAO.


Previous description:

xxxxx temporary structure presents the expansion of both known and
less familiar constructive procedures and apparatus, for example
software (Pure Data, Python) and hardware (waves, circuits,
simulation) into novel territory. Software becomes script and social
pragmatics, hardware expands into optics, architecture, graffiti,
elaborate kinetics and novel interfaces to the world addressing
biologic and physical processes; a play of light, resonance and

The relationship between structure and system is playfully opened,
with the modelling of systems as core activity within the temporary
lab space; simulation within both code and analogue electronics, the
embedding of an internal observer allowing for a play with agents and

A concern with materiality and construction forms the base for an
energetic examination of all manner of diagrams, public interface
(reading space, discussion), bio-computing (plant life, EEG), world
interface (practical endophysics), everyday technologies (light,
food), code, transitions and translations. Such disciplines branch out
mushroom like, revealing instabilities and new structures across nine
days, in one space, publicly accessible throughout.

xxxxx temporary structure is inherently experimental and
interdisciplinary, inviting practitioners and artists who are well
able to prise open the gaps between reified disciplines to actively
create new social and constructive apparatus within the xxxxx space.

A playful laboratory is proposed which does not mark boundaries
between forms and between disciplines - which rather exposes and opens
up social and artistic structures for sublime experience.

Participants: Oswald Berthold, Alexei Blinov, Lindsay Brown, Verena
Friedrich, Lars Lundehave Hansen, Derek Holzer, Martin Howse, Jonathan
Kemp, Yunchul Kim, Martin Kuentz, Walter Langelaar, Shintaro Miyazaki,
Rob Mullender, Julian Oliver, Otto Roessler, Bengt Sjolen, Danja
Vassiliev, Dorotha Walentynowicz

More information about the microsound-announce mailing list